This information comes directly from Victoria Ipri on Linkedin:

As the Linkedin platform becomes more sophisticated, changes are made – some obvious, like the new profile page design, and some more subtle, like your unspoken agreement to allow Linkedin to use your name and photo in 3rd-party advertising.

Wait…you didn’t give them your permission? Then how did this happen?

In your account settings, there is a box that the good people at Linkedin have automatically checked for you, which gives your permission…even though no one asked you.

If you object to sharing your name and photo in 3rd party advertising, follow these six very simple steps:

1. Log into your account.
2. Click on your name (upper right corner).
3. Click on Settings.
4. Select Account.
5. Click on “Manage Social Advertising”
6. Uncheck the box next to “LinkedIn may use my name, photo in social advertising”

Please share!